Skip to main content

SQI: Simpson Querry Institute

Ameer wins 2022 Bioactive Materials Lifetime Achievement Award

SQI member Guillermo Ameer has been named the 2022 Bioactive Materials Lifetime Achievement Award winner by the Bioactive Materials academic journal.

Established in 2021, the annual Bioactive Materials Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes excellence in research and development in the field of bioactive materials. The award is presented to a person judged to have demonstrated excellence and leadership in bioactive materials, including basic science and translation to practice. 

Guillermo Ameer

Ameer, Daniel Hale Williams Professor of Biomedical Engineering at the McCormick School of Engineering and Professor of Surgery at the Feinberg School of Medicine, is a leader in regenerative engineering, biomaterials, additive manufacturing for biomedical devices, controlled drug delivery, and bio/nanotechnology for therapeutics and diagnostics. His laboratory has pioneered the development of tissue regeneration applications of citrate-based biomaterials, the core technology behind the innovative bioresorbable orthopedic tissue fixation devices CITREFIXTM, CITRESPLINETM, and CITRELOCKTM, which were recently cleared by the FDA for clinical use and marketed worldwide by Stryker Corporation.

Ameer also directs Northwestern’s Center for Advanced Regenerative Engineering (CARE), an interdisciplinary research center that integrates and supports research, technology development, and clinical expertise to improve the outcome of tissue and organ repair and regeneration for adult and pediatric patients. CARE was recently awarded a T32 training grant by the National Institutes of Health — one of the first two T32 grants awarded in the field of regenerative engineering — that will educate the next generation of regenerative engineers.

Ameer’s other recent honors include election to the National Academy of Medicine and being named Fellow of the Materials Research Society. He also received the Technology Innovation and Development Award from the Society for Biomaterials, the Global Biomaterials Leadership Award from the Chinese Association for Biomaterials, was inducted into the University of Texas McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering Academy of Distinguished Chemical Engineers, and received the Society for Biomaterials Clemson Award for Contributions to the Literature.

This article was first published by the McCormick School of Engineering.